‘A Tribute to Lawrence Carroll’
A Tribute to Lawrence Carroll
12. Juli—3. August 2019

A Tribute to Lawrence Carroll

12. Juli—3. August 2019
Buchmann Galerie
Pressemitteilung

Die Buchmann Galerie freut sich die  Ausstellung A Tribute to Lawrence Carroll anzukündigen.

 

Lawrence Carroll, Maler, Bildhauer, Kosmopolit und Künstler der Galerie, verstarb völlig unerwartet am 21. Mai 2019.

 

Aus diesem traurigen Anlass hat die Buchmann Galerie eine Sammlung materialisierter Erinnerungen an den Künstlers aus dem Archiv zusammengestellt, darunter Carrolls Zeitungen, die er seit einigen Jahren für wichtige Ausstellungen erstellt hat und eine Auswahl repräsentativer Arbeiten aus den letzten Jahren. Ebenfalls zeigen wir in der Ausstellung den Dokumentarfilm: Lawrence Carroll, Finding a Place von Simona Ostinelli, Courtesy Pic-Film SA und RSI Radiotelevisione Svizzera.

 

Das Konzept der Zeit spielt eine herausragende Rolle in dem vielseitigen Werk, das Lawrence Carroll hinterlässt. Viele seiner Gemälde und Skulpturen entstanden über lange Zeiträume hinweg in verschiedenen Ateliers zwischen Malibu, Marquette, Venedig, Bolsena und kürzlich auch in Tivoli, New York. Carrolls poetische Werke sind von der Achtung vor dem Augenblick bestimmt und um des Augenblicks willen entstanden; der Künstler ließ sich von der Zeit, vom Warten und von der Ruhe führen. Der Titel seiner jüngsten monografischen Ausstellung As the Noise Falls Away im Kunstmuseum Kloster Unser Lieben Frauen in Magdeburg 2018 lässt dies anklingen.

 

Die Kunst von Lawrence Carroll entspringt einer Abfolge hochsensibler Prozesse, in denen die eigene Wahrnehmung, die kreative Hand, die ausgewählten Materialien und der Ort der Präsentation in Einklang gebracht und ästhetisch verknüpft werden. Die persönliche Spurensuche hinterlässt eine Vielzahl von Markierungen, die als Verdichtung der Gedanken und Gestaltungsakte des Künstlers zu verstehen sind.

 

Der objekthafte Charakter seiner Bilder - die Entscheidung, das Bild von jeglichem Illusionismus fernzuhalten - verstärkte Carrolls Entschlossenheit, der Bedeutung der Werke im Raum Rechnung zu tragen. Seine Werke arbeiten mit Konstellationen von Maß und Raum, Licht und Schatten, Farbe und Objekt – und unterhalten tiefe Beziehungen zu der Leere, die die Vergangenheit in Bezug auf die Gegenwart hinterlassen hat.

 

Die Buchmann Galerie Berlin – Lugano arbeitet seit 1994 mit Lawrence Carroll. Die erste Ausstellung seiner Arbeiten wurde für die Galerie, damals in Basel, konzipiert, gefolgt von zahlreichen Ausstellungen in Köln, Berlin, Agra und Lugano. Lawrence Carroll präsentierte in der Galerie seine ersten Yellow Paintings, Grey Paintings, die ersten ortsspezifischen Dust Paintings, Freezing Paintings und das Sleeping Painting, das, installiert im St. Alban Kanal in Basel, eines Morgens von der Flut in den Rhein gespült wurde. Die Buchmann Galerie Berlin/ Lugano zeigte die Arbeiten von Lawrence Carroll seit 1994 in zwölf Einzelausstellungen.

 

Mit diesen wunderbaren Erinnerungen trauern wir um einen großen Künstler und einen wahren Freund, den wir sehr vermissen.

‘A Tribute to Lawrence Carroll’

Lawrence Carroll

Geboren 1954 in Melbourne, verstorben 2019 in Köln.

Ausbildung
1980 Otis Art Institute, Los Angeles, CA
1976 - 80 Art Center College of Design, Pasadena, CA
1974 - 76 Moorpark College, CA
 

Einzelausstellungen

2022
2020
2019
2017
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1990
1989
1988

Gruppenausstellungen

2021
2020
2019
2018
2017
2016
2015
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1990
1989
1988
1987
1986
1985
Sammlungen (Auswahl)

Guggenheim Museum, New York
Museum of Contemporary Art MOCA, Los Angeles
Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Los Angeles
Museum of Fine Arts, Houston

Museum of Contemporary Art, San Diego

Margulies Collection, Miami

Hall Collection, Vermont

Rubell Family Collection, Miami
Chase Manhattan Bank, New York
Kunstmuseum Stuttgart

Städtisches Museum Abteiberg, Mönchengladbach

Kunstmuseum Kloster unser lieben Frauen, Magdeburg
Kunsthalle Mannheim

Sammlung Wemhöner, Herford/Berlin, Germany

Schaufler Foundation Schauwerk Sindelfingen, Germany
LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura, Switzerland

Museo die Arte Moderna e Contemporanea di Rovereto MaRT, Italy
Palazzo Ducale, Sassoulo, Italy (permanent installation)

Panza Collection, Mendrisio, CH

Villa Panza, Varese, Italy (permanent installation)
Hotel Des Arts, Toulon, France
La Certosa di San Lorenzo, Padula, Italy              
Es Baluard Museu D'Art Modern I Contemporani De Palma, Palma de Mallorca, Spain

EMMA Museum, Espoo, Finland
Sara Hilden Art Museum, Tampere Finland

Fundación Jumex Arte Contemporáneo, Mexico City
Museo de Bellas Artes, Caracas
National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo

Art Gallery of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia

Shanghai Long Museum, China

‘A Tribute to Lawrence Carroll’
A Tribute to Lawrence Carroll
12 Jul—3 Aug 2019

A Tribute to Lawrence Carroll

12 Jul—3 Aug 2019
Buchmann Galerie
Press release

The Buchmann Galerie invites you to the exhibition A Tribute to Lawrence Carroll. 

 

The painter, sculptor, cosmopolite and great friend of the gallery, Lawrence Carroll, passed away unexpectedly on 21 May 2019. 

 

To mark this sad occasion, the Buchmann Galerie has curated a show of materialized memories of the artist’s career from the archive, including catalogues, Carroll’s newspapers, created by him for important exhibitions, and a selection from his last cycle of works. Also included in the exhibition is the the documentary: Lawrence Carroll, Finding a Place, written and directed by Simona Ostinelli, courtesy Pic-Film SA and RSI Radiotelevisione Svizzera.

 

The concept of time has played a prominent role in the eclectic body of work Lawrence Carroll leaves behind. Many of the artist’s paintings and sculptures came into being over long periods of time, often produced by the artist in different studios between Malibu, Marquette, Venice, Bolsena and, recently, in Tivoli, New York. Carroll’s poetic works are determined by a respect for “the instant in time”; developed for the sake of the moment, the artist allowed himself to be guided by time – the duration of time – where nothing occurs abruptly. This is what the artist meant by the title of his recent monographic exhibition As the Noise Falls Away (Kunstmuseum Kloster Unser Lieben Frauen in Magdeburg, Germany, 2018).

 

Lawrence Carroll acted out of observing the inconspicuous. His art comes out of a sequence of highly sensitive processes, in which one’s own perception, the creative hand, materials selected and the place of presentation are all brought into harmony and tied aesthetically. In this process, the personal search for traces segues into leaving his own marks, which are to be understood as a condensation of his thoughts and formative acts.

 

The object-like character of his paintings – the consequence of keeping his painting distant from all illusionism – only strengthened his resolve to take account of the works’ importance in space. Carroll’s art inserts itself into those relations to create constellations – like measure and space, light and shadow, colour and object, or like the emptiness left behind by the past in relation to the present.

 

The first exhibition of Lawrence Carroll’s work in the Buchmann Galerie was conceived for the gallery in Basel in 1994, followed by numerous exhibitions in Cologne, Berlin, Agra and Lugano. Carroll presented his first Yellow Paintings, Grey Paintings, the first site-specific Dust Paintings, Freezing Paintings, and the Sleeping Painting – installed in the canal waters of St. Alban Pond – and which was washed away by the tide one morning into the Rhine. Since 1994, the Buchmann Galerie Berlin/Lugano has presented Lawrence Carroll’s work in twelve solo exhibitions.

 

With these wonderful memories, we now mourn the loss of a great artist and a true friend whom we will miss very much. 

 

‘A Tribute to Lawrence Carroll’

Lawrence Carroll

Born 1954 in Melbourne, died 2019 in Cologne.

Education
1980 Otis Art Institute, Los Angeles, CA
1976 - 80 Art Center College of Design, Pasadena, CA
1974 - 76 Moorpark College, CA
 

Solo Exhibitions

2022
2020
2019
2017
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1990
1989
1988

Group Exhibitions

2021
2020
2019
2018
2017
2016
2015
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1990
1989
1988
1987
1986
1985
Selected Collections

Guggenheim Museum, New York
Museum of Contemporary Art MOCA, Los Angeles
Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Los Angeles
Museum of Fine Arts, Houston

Museum of Contemporary Art, San Diego

Margulies Collection, Miami

Hall Collection, Vermont

Rubell Family Collection, Miami
Chase Manhattan Bank, New York
Kunstmuseum Stuttgart

Städtisches Museum Abteiberg, Mönchengladbach

Kunstmuseum Kloster unser lieben Frauen, Magdeburg
Kunsthalle Mannheim

Sammlung Wemhöner, Herford/Berlin, Germany

Schaufler Foundation Schauwerk Sindelfingen, Germany
LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura, Switzerland

Museo die Arte Moderna e Contemporanea di Rovereto MaRT, Italy
Palazzo Ducale, Sassoulo, Italy (permanent installation)

Panza Collection, Mendrisio, CH

Villa Panza, Varese, Italy (permanent installation)
Hotel Des Arts, Toulon, France
La Certosa di San Lorenzo, Padula, Italy              
Es Baluard Museu D'Art Modern I Contemporani De Palma, Palma de Mallorca, Spain

EMMA Museum, Espoo, Finland
Sara Hilden Art Museum, Tampere Finland

Fundación Jumex Arte Contemporáneo, Mexico City
Museo de Bellas Artes, Caracas
National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo

Art Gallery of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia

Shanghai Long Museum, China