Bettina Pousttchi, ‘Ceramics’
Bettina Pousttchi Ceramics
29. April—30. Juli 2016

Bettina Pousttchi Ceramics

29. April—30. Juli 2016
Buchmann Galerie
Pressemitteilung

Die Buchmann Galerie freut sich zum Gallery Weekend Berlin eine Einzelausstellung mit neuen Keramikarbeiten von Bettina Pousttchi anzukündigen.

 

Keramik ist eines der ältesten bildhauerischen Materialien, das zudem über eine besondere Beziehung zu Berlin verfügt. Die Stadt ist in weiten Teilen aus keramischem Backstein erbaut. Wie andere Arbeiten von Bettina Pousttchi, haben auch ihre hier vorgestellten Keramikarbeiten einen Bezug zu Architektur. 

 

Ausgangspunkt der Wandreliefs sind Fotografien der Künstlerin von deutschen Fachwerkhäusern, die sie digital bearbeitet hat. Ähnlich einem 3D Print wurden die Fotodateien von Fassadenelementen in ein keramisches Modul übersetzt.

 

Dieses serielle Modul wird in unterschiedlichen Konstellationen an der Wand zu ornamentalen Formen gruppiert. Dadurch entsteht eine Dynamik im Raum zu der Chris Dercon im Gespräch mit der Künstlerin in ihrem kürzlich erschienen Buch The City bemerkt: „Ich denke, dass Du viel weiter gehst und über das Ornament nicht nur als eine Form von Lebendigkeit, sondern auch als eine Form von Belebung nachdenkst.” (1)

 

Die Wandreliefs verbinden die Architektursprache des europäischen Kulturraums mit der des Nahen Ostens. Dieser Verschränkung der Perspektiven liegt ein transnationaler Gedanke zugrunde, der zentral ist für das Werk der Künstlerin.

 

Die manuelle Herstellung der in verschiedenen Farben glasierten Keramikteile verleiht jedem Element eine leicht andere Form. „Die lineare Reihung dieser Wandskulpturen lässt an Donald Judds Progressions denken. Darüber hinaus erinnert die serielle, nichthierarchische Anordnung beinahe identischer Module an die Bodenplastiken von Carl Andre”, schreibt dazu Jeremy Strick, Direktor des Nasher Sculpture Center Dallas. Und führt weiter zu diesem Aspekt aus: „Und während Judd und Andre dezidiert unpersönliche skulpturale Elemente nutzen, rufen Pousttchis Module eine Vielzahl kultureller, historischer und autobiografischer Assoziationen hervor.” (1)

 

Bettina Pousttchi wurde 1971 in Mainz geboren und lebt in Berlin. 2014 erhielt sie den Wolfsburger Kunstpreis und hatte bislang Einzelausstellungen unter andrem im Nasher Sculpture Center Dallas, der Kunsthalle Basel, der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt und der Temporären Kunsthalle Berlin. Parallel zur Galerieausstellung eröffnen am 9. Juni 2016 sowohl das Hirshhorn Museum in Washington D.C. als auch die Phillips Collection in Washington D.C. eine Einzelausstellung mit Bettina Pousttchi.

 

Das Hirshhorn Museum zeigt die erste öffentliche Präsentation der vollständigen 24teiligen grossformatigen Fotoarbeit World Time Clock, an der die Künstlerin acht Jahre lange gearbeitet hat. Seit 2006 hat Bettina Pousttchi 24 Zeitzonen der Erde bereist und in jeder Zone eine signifikante öffentliche Uhr auf der jeweils gleichen Uhrzeit fotografiert. Bettina Pousttchi schafft ein philosophisch hintergründiges Bild der Gleichzeitigkeit von Zeit. Auch hier zeigt sich das Interesse der Künstlerin an Aspekten des Transnationalen in einer globalisierten Wirklichkeit.

 

Die Phillips Collection zeigt Werke der Künstlerin aus der Skulpturenserie -Double Monuments for Flavin and Tatlin (2009-2014) und richtet damit den Blick auf das bildhauerische Werk von Bettina Pousttchi. Absperrgitter -Objekte des öffentlichen Raumes- wurden von der Künstlerin so verformt und übereinandergesetzt das sie als Konstruktion an das Monument der dritten Internationale von Wladimir Tatlin erinnern. Tatlin plante seinen Turm, eine riesenhafte Uhr, als Denkmal für die kollektiven Kräfte der russischen Revolution. Dies ein Thema, das auch Dan Flavin in seiner Werkgruppe “monuments” for V. Tatlin (1964-1990) beschäftigte. Bettina Pousttchi reflektiert kunsthistorische Bezüge und erweitert diese in ihrer eigenen Arbeit in aktuelle Fragen des Gesellschaftlichen hinein.

 

Auch im Kunstmuseum Bonn in der Ausstellung EchtZEIT, im Ludwig Museum Budapest in der Ausstellung Passion und im Latvian National Museum of Art Riga in der Ausstellung German Art since the late 1960s werden Arbeiten von Bettina Pousttchi zu sehen sein.

 

Für weitere Informationen über die Künstlerin und für Bildmaterial zu den Arbeiten in der Ausstellung können Sie sich gerne jederzeit mit der Galerie in Verbindung setzen.

 

(1) zitiert aus: Bettina Pousttchi, The City, Hg. Nasher Sculpture Center Dallas und Städtische Galerie Wolfsburg, HatjeCantz, 2015, dt/engl, Essays von Susanne Pfleger, Jeremy Strick, Thomas Köhler und Adam Szymczyk und ein Gespräch zwischen der Künstlerin und Chris Dercon.

Bettina Pousttchi, ‘Ceramics’

Bettina Pousttchi

Geboren 1971 in Mainz. Lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Ausbildung
1999/2000 Whitney Independent Studio Program, Whitney Museum, New York
1995-1999 Kunstakademie Düsseldorf (Prof. Gerhard Merz, Prof. Rosemarie Trockel)
1992-1997 Philosophiestudium, Kunst- und Filmgeschichte, Universität zu Köln und in Bochum
1990-1992 Kunststudium, Université de Paris 
Stipendien und Auszeichnungen
2016 Villa Aurora, Los Angeles

2014

Wolfsburg Art Award

2008

TrAIN Research Center for Transnational Art, Identity and Nation, University of the Arts, London
2007 BBAX - Berlin Buenos Aires Art Exchange, Buenos Aires
2005 Provinzial Förderprojekt
2000 Kunststiftung NRW

 

Einzelausstellungen

2022
2020
2015
2013
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Gruppenausstellungen

2022
2021
2020
2019
2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
Sammlungen (Auswahl)

Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden Washington DC

Nasher Sculpture Center Dallas

Margulies Collection Miami

Rennie Collection Vancouver

The Arts Club of Chicago

The Phillips Collection Washington DC

Freybe Collection Vancouver

Nasher Collection Dallas

Albertina Vienna

Berlinische Galerie, Museum of Modern Art Berlin

Kunsthalle Bielefeld

Hall Collection New York

Blake Byrne/Skylark Foundation Los Angeles

Levine Collection Washington DC

Wemhöner Collection Herford/Berlin

Kadist Collection Paris

Collection of the Federal Republic of Germany

University of Cologne

Von-der-Heydt Museum Wuppertal

Absolut Art Collection Stockholm

Wolfsburg City Art Gallery

MMAG Foundation Amman

Bettina Pousttchi, ‘Ceramics’
Bettina Pousttchi Ceramics
29 Apr—30 Jul 2016

Bettina Pousttchi Ceramics

29 Apr—30 Jul 2016
Buchmann Galerie
Press release

The Buchmann Gallery is pleased to announce a solo show with new ceramic works by Bettina Pousttchi.

 

One of the oldest materials used for sculpture is ceramic, a material which also has a special relationship to the history of Berlin. Large areas of the city were built using ceramic bricks. Like other works by Bettina Pousttchi, the ceramic works presented here reference the field of architecture and its social implications.  

 

These murals started out as photographic details Pousttchi took of the patterned blackened oak beams of historic, half-timbered houses and then digitally edited. Similar to a 3D printing technique, the photo file of the façade elements was transformed into a ceramic module. 

 

This serial module is arranged on the wall in different constellations in ornamental patterns, thus creating a spatial dynamism. Picking up on this aspect in a conversation with the artist in her recently published book, The City, Chris Dercon noted: “You go much further, I think, reflecting on ornament not only as a form of life but also as a form of animation.” (1)

 

The wall friezes combine the language of European architecture with that of the Middle East. This interlacing of perspectives is based on a transnational vision which is central to the artist’s oeuvre.  

 

The manual production of the different ceramic pieces, which are glazed in different colours, gives each element a slightly different shape. “In their linear placement, these wall-mounted sculptures recall Progressions of Donald Judd. Even more, as groupings of nearly identical modules placed in a serial, nonhierachical order, they call to mind the floor pieces of Carl Andre”, writes Jeremy Strick, Director of the Nasher Sculpture Center Dallas, continuing: “And while Judd and Andre worked with sculptural elements that were decidedly and determinedly impersonal, Pousttchi’s modules call forth a variety of cultural, historical, and autobiographical associations.” (1)

 

Bettina Pousttchi was born in 1971 in Mainz and lives in Berlin. In 2014 she received the Wolfsburg Art Prize. Pousttchi has had numerous solo exhibitions, including at the Nasher Sculpture Center in Dallas, the Kunsthalle Basel, the Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, and the Temporäre Kunsthalle Berlin. Taking place simultaneously with the gallery show, and opening on 9 June 2016, the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington, D.C., and the Phillips Collection in Washington, D.C. will also be hosting solo shows of Bettina Pousttchi’s work. 

 

The Hirshhorn Museum will be showing the first public presentation of the complete 24-part large-format photography series, World Time Clock, which the artist spent eight years working on. Since 2006, Bettina Pousttchi has been traveling around the world’s 24 time zones and taking photographs of a significant public clock in each zone; each clock shows the same time. In this cycle, Bettina Pousttchi creates a profound philosophical image of the synchronicity of time. This series also reveals her interest in transnational aspects in a globalised reality.

 

In an exhibition that focuses on Bettina Pousttchi’s sculptural work, the Phillips Collection is showing works from her sculpture series Double Monuments for Flavin and Tatlin (2009-2014). Pousttchi uses constraining materials like crowd barriers - objects found in public spaces – and deforms and stacks them to create sculptural forms that reference the Monument to the Third International by Vladimir Tatlin. Tatlin created his tower, a huge clock, as a memorial for the collective power of the Russian revolution. This is a topic that Dan Flavin also picked up on his “monuments” for V. Tatlin (1964-1990). Bettina Pousttchi reflects art historical references and expands on these in her own work by including current social issues.

 

Works by Bettina Pousttchi will also be on view at the Kunstmuseum Bonn in the exhibition EchtZEIT, at the Ludwig Museum Budapest in the exhibition Passion and at the Latvian National Museum of Art Riga in the exhibition German Art since the late 1960s.

 

For additional information on the artist or for visual materials on the works in the exhibition, please do not hesitate to contact the gallery at any time.

 

(1) Quoted from: Bettina Pousttchi, The City, Nasher Sculpture Center Dallas and Städtische Galerie Wolfsburg, HatjeCantz, 2015, German/English. The book contains essays by Susanne Pfleger, Jeremy Strick, Thomas Köhler and Adam Szymczyk and a conversation between the artist and Chris Dercon.

Bettina Pousttchi, ‘Ceramics’

Bettina Pousttchi

Born 1971 in Mainz. Lives and works in Berlin.

Education
1999/2000 Whitney Independent Studio Program, Whitney Museum, New York
1995-1999 Kunstakademie Düsseldorf (with Prof. Gerhard Merz and Prof. Rosemarie Trockel)
1992-1997 Studies in philosophy, art and film history, Universities of Cologne and Bochum
1990-1992 Studies in Fine Art, Université de Paris 
Grants and Awards
2016 Villa Aurora, Los Angeles

2014

Wolfsburg Art Award

2008

TrAIN Research Center for Transnational Art, Identity and Nation, University of the Arts, London
2007 BBAX - Berlin Buenos Aires Art Exchange, Buenos Aires
2005 Provinzial Förderprojekt
2000 Kunststiftung NRW

 

Solo Exhibitions

2022
2020
2015
2013
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Group Exhibitions

2022
2021
2020
2019
2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
Selected Collections

Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden Washington DC

Nasher Sculpture Center Dallas

Margulies Collection Miami

Rennie Collection Vancouver

The Arts Club of Chicago

The Phillips Collection Washington DC

Freybe Collection Vancouver

Nasher Collection Dallas

Albertina Vienna

Berlinische Galerie, Museum of Modern Art Berlin

Kunsthalle Bielefeld

Hall Collection New York

Blake Byrne/Skylark Foundation Los Angeles

Levine Collection Washington DC

Wemhöner Collection Herford/Berlin

Kadist Collection Paris

Collection of the Federal Republic of Germany

University of Cologne

Von-der-Heydt Museum Wuppertal

Absolut Art Collection Stockholm

Wolfsburg City Art Gallery

MMAG Foundation Amman