‘Clare Woods – Hanging, Hollow and Holes’
Clare Woods Hanging, Hollow and Holes
7. November 2014—17. Januar 2015

Clare Woods Hanging, Hollow and Holes

7. November 2014—17. Januar 2015
Buchmann Galerie
Pressemitteilung

Die Buchmann Galerie freut sich, die vierte Einzelausstellung der englischen Malerin Clare Woods (GB, *1972) anzukündigen.

 

Bekannt geworden mit bis zu 2,5 x 10,5 Meter großen Landschaftsbildern, zeigt Clare Woods in der neuen Werkgruppe drei unterschiedliche Genres, die sich gegenseitig überlagern: Portrait, Landschaft und Stillleben. 

 

Ausgangspunkt für die Arbeiten sind schwarz weiße Bildvorlagen: Fotos aus Büchern und Zeitungen oder eigene Aufnahmen. Fotografien von Reportagen von Don McCullin interessieren Clare Woods genauso wie Aufnahmen der Skulpturen von Eduardo Paolozzi, etwa von Shattered Head aus 1956, die sich in der Sammlung der Tate befindet. Die Skulptur ist die Vorlage für das Gemälde The Repeater.

 

Wie Georg Baselitz mit der Umkehrung des Motivs eine Distanz zur Realität schafft, legt Clare Woods mit ihren farblosen Vorlagen einen Filter zwischen die Realität, die Landschaft, die porträtierte Person oder das Stillleben und die Malerei. In diesem kreativen Freiraum wird plötzlich jede Farbe und jeder malerische Ausdruck möglich. Alle Entscheidungen sind allein der Malerei geschuldet und sind losgelöst vom Zwang einer bestimmten Darstellung von Realität. Auch auf emotionaler Ebene kodiert Woods durch ungewohnte Farbsetzungen die Motive neu. 

 

Clare Woods: „I can project any colour onto the image as I have not experienced it first hand.“ (in einem Gespräch Oktober 2014) 

 

Der Bezug zu figurativen Werken der Bildhauerei ist für Clare Woods ein konzeptioneller Griff, um eine Art doppelte Abstraktion zu erreichen. Die in der Bildhauerei transformierte Realität wird ein zweites Mal in der Malerei gebrochen. Vor allem Werke von Edouard Paolozzi und Henry Moore, aber auch von Louise Bourgeois oder William Tucker fanden das Interesse von Clare Woods.   

 

Die Arbeiten von Clare Woods waren unter anderem in Einzelausstellungen in The Hepworth Wakefield, in der Southampton City Art Gallery oder der Chisenhale Gallery London zu sehen. Ihre Arbeiten finden sich unter anderem in der Margulies Collection, Miami, in der National Collection of Wales, im Arken Museum of Modern Art, Kopenhagen oder in der Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo. Eine Ausstellung in der Oriel Davies Gallery Newtown (Wales) ist noch bis zum bis 5. November 2014 zu sehen. 

 

Für weitere Informationen zur Künstlerin und für Bildmaterial der ausgestellten Werke können Sie sich gerne jederzeit mit der Galerie in Verbindung setzen.

‘Clare Woods – Hanging, Hollow and Holes’

Clare Woods

Geboren 1972, lebt und arbeitet in Hereford, UK

Ausbildung
1997 - 99 MA, Goldsmith’s College, London
1991 - 94 BA, Bath College of Art, Bath
Stipendien und Auszeichnungen
2022 Elected to Royal Academy of Arts, London, UK

 

Einzelausstellungen

2022
2021
2020
2019
2018
2015
2013
2012
2011
2009
2008
2007
2006
2004
2002
2000
1997

Gruppenausstellungen

2022
2020
2019
2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
Sammlungen (Auswahl)

Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo
Arken Museum of Modern Art, Ishøj
Arts Council Collection, London
British Airways Art Collection, London
CCA Andratx, Mallorca
Colección VAC (Valencia Arte Contemporáneo), Valencia
Government Art Collection, London
Harewood House, Leeds
Honart Museum, Tehran
Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge
Mead Gallery, Warwick University, Warwick
NationalCollection of Wales, Cardiff
Nuffield College Collection, Oxford
Southampton City Art Gallery, Southampton
The British Council Collection, London
The Dakis Joannou Collection Foundation, Athens
The Hepworth Wakefield, Wakefield
The Hiscox Collection, London
The Hive, Worcester
The National Museum, Cardiff
The Ophiuchus Collection, Geneva
Tulle House Museum & Art Gallery, Carlisle
VIA University, Aarhus

‘Clare Woods – Hanging, Hollow and Holes’
Clare Woods Hanging, Hollow and Holes
7 Nov 2014—17 Jan 2015

Clare Woods Hanging, Hollow and Holes

7 Nov 2014—17 Jan 2015
Buchmann Galerie
Press release

The Buchmann Galerie is pleased to announce the fourth solo exhibition of works by the English painter Clare Woods (GB, *1972).

 

In the new group of works, Woods, who became well known through her large landscapes (up to 2,5 x 10,5 meters), exhibits three different genres that mutually overlap: portrait, landscape, and still life.

 

The point of departure for these works is black-and-white photographic source material from books or newspapers, or the artist’s own photographs. Clare Woods is just as interested in the photographic reportage of Don McCullin as in photos of sculptures by Eduardo Paolozzi, such as Shattered Head of 1956, which can be found in the Tate Collection. The sculpture formed the basis for the painting The Repeater.

 

Like Georg Baselitz, for whom the inversion of the motif creates a distance from reality, with her colourless source material Clare Woods places a filter between reality — the landscape, the portrayed person, the still life — and the painting. Within this creative latitude, suddenly any colour and painterly expression is possible. All decisions are on account of the painting and are released from the constraints of a specific representation of reality. On an emotional level as well Woods also recodes the motifs through unusual coloration.

 

“I can project any colour onto the image as I have not experienced it first hand,” said Woods in an interview in October of 2014.

 

The reference to figurative works of sculpture is a conceptual method used by Woods to achieve a kind of doubled abstraction. The reality transformed in the sculpture is refracted a second time in the painting process. The works of Edouard Paolozzi and Henry Moore in particular, but also those of Louise Bourgeois and William Tucker have attracted Woods’ interest.

 

Clare Woods’ works have been shown in solo exhibitions at The Hepworth Wakefield, in the Southampton City Art Gallery, and Chisenhale Gallery in London, among others. Her works can be found in the Margulies Collection, Miami, in the National Collection of Wales, in the Arken Museum of Modern Art, Copenhagen, and in the Albright Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, among others. An exhibition in the Oriel Davies Gallery in Newtown (Wales) can be visited until November 5, 2014

 

Please contact the gallery should you require any further information about the artist or require images of the works.

‘Clare Woods – Hanging, Hollow and Holes’

Clare Woods

Born 1972, lives and works in Hereford, UK

Education
1997 - 99 MA, Goldsmith’s College, London
1991 - 94 BA, Bath College of Art, Bath
Grants and Awards
2022 Elected to Royal Academy of Arts, London, UK

 

Solo Exhibitions

2022
2021
2020
2019
2018
2015
2013
2012
2011
2009
2008
2007
2006
2004
2002
2000
1997

Group Exhibitions

2022
2020
2019
2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
Selected Collections

Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo
Arken Museum of Modern Art, Ishøj
Arts Council Collection, London
British Airways Art Collection, London
CCA Andratx, Mallorca
Colección VAC (Valencia Arte Contemporáneo), Valencia
Government Art Collection, London
Harewood House, Leeds
Honart Museum, Tehran
Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge
Mead Gallery, Warwick University, Warwick
NationalCollection of Wales, Cardiff
Nuffield College Collection, Oxford
Southampton City Art Gallery, Southampton
The British Council Collection, London
The Dakis Joannou Collection Foundation, Athens
The Hepworth Wakefield, Wakefield
The Hiscox Collection, London
The Hive, Worcester
The National Museum, Cardiff
The Ophiuchus Collection, Geneva
Tulle House Museum & Art Gallery, Carlisle
VIA University, Aarhus